My Lush Skincare Routine


Okay, real talk, my skin right now is the worst it’s been in years. It’s angry, it’s dry, it’s the skin of a scaly lizard queen. In other words, I in no way have any authority to be talking about skincare right now. But is that gonna stop me? Nah.

As I’ve mentioned before, my skin is A) sensitive B) dry and C) blemish prone. HASHTAG DREAM TEAM. Ugh. What I mean is I have pretty awkward skin and have spent a lot of time, effort, and (most importantly) money trying to figure out a routine that works for me. As of now, I’m pretty happy with how things are working out, and I figured I’d spread the magic around a little. You’re so welcome.

Oh, and because this is me we’re talking about, IT’S ALL GONNA BE FROM LUSH.

Cleanser: Ultrabland

The first thing I do at the end of the day is remove my makeup. I gave up using makeup wipes over a year ago now and since then have been trying out a bunch of different products to find the best way to remove my raccoon eyes, and this is the one. Admittedly, on the first few uses, you will hate this product. It’s thick and oily and not a really appealing colour… but stick with it! After a week of daily use, you’ll have figured out how much product to use, how long to rub it in for, and how to properly remove it. And you’ll fall in love. For the latter, I use a reusable makeup cloth from Sephora and it definitely does the job. Cotton pads just won’t cut it here. After about three months of constant use, I’m sold. My skin seems fresher, cleaner, and softer by using this daily, in contrast to the slight burning sensation I got from using wipes. This is definitely a keeper.

Face Mask: Mask Of Magnaminty

I’ve spoken about this face mask on the blog before, but months later I’m still singing its praises. I use Magnaminty 1-2 times a week and always repurchase it. I genuinely believe that it clears my skin up a bit, as well as ensuring I don’t need to buy a separate exfoliator, and just making my skin feel like it’s never been tainted by anything else. What more could you want?

Moisturiser: Enzymion

After my face is makeup free, it’s time to give my skin a treat. Technically speaking, Enzymion is not a moisturiser for dry skin… and I actually picked it up my accident. But my face is so happy I did. This moisturiser is perfect for my skin issues. The fact that it’s made for oily skin means it doesn’t irritate any of my blemishes and its lightness means my sensitive skin doesn’t feel clogged. Essentially I put this on before sleeping and my skin wakes up feeling happy and fresh. It doesn’t tackle my major dry skin areas, but we’ll address that problem later.

Lip Balm: Buttered Brazils

My dry flaky lips have always been a huge source of annoyance for me, and for years the only way to remedy that was Burt’s Bees. However I recently learnt that despite having the Leaping Bunny logo on it, Burt’s Bees is owned by a parent company that tests?! How rude. I finally ran out of my beloved BBees in Florence, and because travel stress was taking its toll on me, I ran to the nearest Lush and tested out all the lip balms before settling on this one (and €50 worth of other products…). As well as tasting and smelling amazing, this balm fully hydrates my lips meaning I can keep channelling my outer Kylie Jenner with my love of lipliner. I thought I was destined for a life of dry lips, but NOPE.

Moisturiser (again): Vanishing Cream

All though all of the above belong to my nighttime skin routine, I do have one more step that follows before I reapply my makeup the following morning. Due to the aforementioned dry skin, before I apply my foundation, I have to do one more round of moisturiser. My other moisturiser is a little too heavy to put on right before foundation as it needs a while to soak in, so I picked up this little baby in Florence to fix the damage caused by traveling. (Side note: I’ve been to a lot of Lush stores in a lot of different countries, but the staff in Venice and Florence were the nicest, most informed, and happy employees I’ve encountered. Good job, Italy!) The Lush Lady told me that Vanishing Cream was one of the thinnest moisturisers they have and recommended it for skin. And after using it for a while, I agree wholeheartedly! It’s perfect for sitting under makeup and really tackles my dry T-Zone area. Combined with Enzymion, they’re a match made in makeup heaven.

So that’s my face. It’s still not perfect, but I’m starting to realise Hollywood lied and that I’m gonna have bad skin way into my twenties. That or I’m just cursed.

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

Leave a Reply

