Things To Accomplish In 2015

Screen Shot 2014-12-30 at 19.48.03

First and foremost, this is a not a new year’s resolution post. I’m not one for those. However, I can see why people relate a new year to a clean slate– and with the start of a new day planner comes a new outlook on life. Cliché, I know, but if it works for some people it might work for me too. Over the course of 2014, this blog has been filled to the brim with posts on how much my life has changed this year thanks to all of the out of character decisions I’ve made over the last twelve (well, about eight, if we’re honest) months. That’s way too optimistic for my liking. This is why I’m composing a list of things I’d like to accomplish in 2015, and then posting it on the Internet for everybody to see, so by the time 2016 rolls around I can look back on it and see all the areas I failed terribly in. Yeaaaaah negativity.

  1. Read at least 40 books. I’d like to go for 50, but seeing as this year I only managed an embarrassingly low 19 (what? moving countries is time consuming alright), I’m gonna go lower. Baby steps. I’d also like to broaden my genre horizons a little too– less fantasy and dystopian YA, more memoirs from my idols and proper boring adult books.
  2. Meet more new people. This is something I started working on last year, and I did very well for my poor little introverted self, but I think it’s something I need to keep working on until it becomes second nature to me. It’s way too easy for me to settle into a routine of Netflix and sleeping. Language intercambios and speciality groups might be coming my way soon.
  3. Minimalise my life. When I was faced with the nightmare of packing my entire life into a suitcase for an indefinite amount of time, I thought I’d arrive in Spain surrounded by echoes of ‘aaaah I knew I should have bought x with me’. And that might have happened a bit… with my Nintendo 3DS and Game of Thrones DVDs. But I’ve actually really enjoyed having about 70% less clothing than before. It’s definitely inspired me to streamline my life and possessions a bit more and I hope my Spanish bedroom remains the minimalist palace it is right now.
  4. Travel more. A simple one, but one I’m still working on due to thinking I’ll be murdered if I travel alone. If it were up to me, I could easily do a little European jaunt every month, but I’ve yet to find someone who is willing to live as impoverished as me to do so. Which is understandable, but still annoying. In 2015 I’d love to explore Prague, Marrakech, Copenhagen, Berlin, and Paris. I could keep that list growing, but that seems doable to me. Let’s see how embarrassed I’ll be with this one in twelve months time.
  5. Give everything my all. When I look back on my life, my choices, and my regrets– the constant theme is always ‘I wish I would have tried more’. It’s easy to say that in hindsight, but in the present it can be hard to think about the consequences of your actions and what’s important and what isn’t. So to avoid these situations in the future, I might as well just give everything my all when it’s in front of me. Easier said than done, right?

So for now I will leave this, until I visit it again in twelve months to see how much I’ve failed. Low expectations and all that. Obviously there’s some more boring stuff on the list that I won’t waste your time by including: practicing my Spanish more, being a bit healthier, and just being a generally nicer and better person. And I promise I won’t update my FB status eight times a day recounting my progress to the entire Internet. If you’re the type of person who makes new years resolutions, I think yours should to not be one of those people.

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

1 thought on “Things To Accomplish In 2015”

Leave a Reply

