TRAVEL | Queen of the North

20140727-103920-38360650.jpg

20140727-103920-38360847.jpg

My dad recently asked me what I wanted to do to celebrate my birthday/moving to Madrid. He initially suggested the normal boring things, such as going out for a meal or something. But neigh, I did not want Thai food– I wanted a kingdom. I told my dad I wanted to visit a castle, not really expecting that I’d get to visit one, but I guess threatening to leave the country makes parents sentimental or something, so off we went to Middleham Castle.

Middleham Castle is in North Yorkshire, aka the prettiest Yorkshire, and is really close to Wensleydale, the home of my favourite cheese. But if there is one thing I love more than cheese, it’s the monarchy, and this castle was also the childhood home to King Richard III, who also happens to be my second favourite monarch. Even if people claim he killed his nephews, you’ve got to respect the last king to die in battle. Richard is also one of the rare occasions I’m anti-Shakespeare. My kingdom for a horse? Okay, Willy, whatever you say. I’m still super bitter about Leicester getting to keep his body. First we lose the War of the Roses, now this.

20140727-104129-38489592.jpg

20140727-104129-38489784.jpg

The castle was super cool and super old– just the way I like them. I tried to soak up as much of the history I could, but sometimes I did get a little distracted by climbing over things. What? It was the closest I’ve ever gotten to something like Winterfell, so I had to go a little Bran Stalk. Out of respect to the Old Gods… or something. Luckily I didn’t witness any incestous liaisons and end up losing the use of my legs, but I also didn’t leave with a direwolf or the ability to control animals and giants. A shame, really.

It was great to experience a bit of English history before I move, and I’ve always had a special place in my heart for the monarchy. I’m really excited to explore Spain and it’s history, but I’m glad I’ve spent these last few weeks in various castles and churches to keep me going whilst I’m away. Keeping up with the stereotypically English theme, I’ve also had one last visit to the fish and chip shop. Minus the fish, of course. Still a vegetarian, still dreading how that’s gonna work out in Spain.

Three days to go! Adios!

20140727-104310-38590940.jpg

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

Leave a Reply

