FAVOURITES | Monthly Musings #3 (May 2014)

This whole blogging kinda regularly thing went super well, huh? In my defence, I’ve been proactive and actually started to take control of my own life throughout the month of May (instead of my usual routine of sitting in bed watching TV and reading my job rejection emails). I’m in the process of planning a move to Madrid, which is very exciting, but it’s not what I’m here to talk about right now. I’m here to spread positivity by telling you all about my favourite things, in the least Julie Andrews-like way possible.

photo 2

1. NARS Highlighting Blush Powder in Albatross:

Technically I only bought this highlighter because I ordered a foundation pump on the NARS website and thought it was a bit ridiculous that the postage cost was more than the actual product itself. So I added this into my basket on a whim, as I’d seen it recommended on various blogs and was in the market for a new highlighter anyway. A powder highlighter was a new product for me, as I’ve only ever used liquid or cream types before, but I really do love it. It definitely jazzes my face up a bit, especially since I’ve abandoned my usual emo eyes in favour of a more neutral look. It also works like a dream with NARS Sheer Glow. I’m really digging my makeup routine this year.

2. Orange Is The New Black:

This is not a new favourite, but a constant one. I recently watched the entirety of season two in just over 24 hours. It wasn’t as impressive a time as some people managed, but I have to sleep sometimes, okay? It took me a few episodes to get into it, and at first I was worried it wasn’t living up to my expectations (the Piper-centric first episode was not a good start for me, she is the worst), but it soon won me over. My favourite episodes were the ones based on Morello and Poussey and the season finale. Miss Rosa is amazing… although I did somehow manage to get through almost two seasons of the show thinking she was Russian? Rosa is such a Russian name, clearly.

photo 3

3. Office Red Patent Shoes:

These beauties actually featured on my April Wish List, and although I originally told myself I wouldn’t buy them because they have a ‘leather sock’ (????), I caved when I stumbled into Office and realised they had 20% off. I’m weak, okay? I’m so sorry cows, I know I’m a terrible person. They pretty much are the perfect shoe though. The heel is low and chunky enough to wear in the daytime, but they also transition really well into night because of the bright colour so I get to save room in my suitcase. I’m pretty much just using Madrid as an excuse to buy new clothes and I’m loving it.

4. Brand New- Your Favourite Weapon:

I always love rediscovering an old favourite, and Brand New definitely were one of my most listened to bands back in the day. Although I’ve always been a total cliché and claimed that Sic Transit Gloria was my favourite Brand New song (and believe me, it definitely spent a long stint as my Myspace profile song), recently I’ve found myself listening to Your Favorite Weapon an awful lot more than I used to. Jude Law and a Semester Abroad, Sudden Death in Carolina, and Soco Amaretto Lime are my favourites, and definitely go perfectly with this amazing weather we’ve been having recently. Can I be 14 again now please?

photo 1

5. The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanser:

I know that I’ve already expressed my love for Superdrug’s tea tree range before, but recently I found myself in The Body Shop and all the green caught my eye. It’s like I have a spidey sense for tea tree oil. This cleanser is a godsend. I’ve mentioned before that I seem to be allergic to most things you can put on your face, so I’m always a little wary when trying out new products. But I am in love. I use this twice a day; once in the morning and once at night, and within two days I’d already seen a noticeable difference to my blemishes. My skin also feels absolutely amazing after using it, and I have to physically stop myself from rubbing my hands all over my face and audibly moaning. I know some people don’t like the smell of tea tree oil, but to me it smells of… clean. If you have blemished skin then I definitely recommend this product, even more so than the truckload of other tea tree products I have in my bathroom.

May was apparently a good month, as I managed to bring this list back up to five and not include a cereal on it like last month. I still really do love All Bran though.

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

Leave a Reply

