FASHION | April Wish List (Shoes, skirts, and Sandor Clegane)

Image

 

This whole unemployment thing is terrible in many ways, but one of the worst parts of it is seeing pretty things and not being able to buy them. It’s not as bad as the whole ‘I am a useless human being’ mindset that it gives me, but I can’t even buy frivolous presents for myself in an attempt to lift my spirits. This is where the whole wish list idea comes in. If I had a job, or was still living in the perfect little bubble that is student life, these would be on my body right now. Except for maybe The Hound. Maybe. Cough, cough.

These red shoes from Office are like my dream shoes, unfortunately they appear to be made of leather. This means that even if I did have money, I wouldn’t be buying them anyway. Hashtag vegetarian problems. But I’m using them to set the bar for future shoes. They will be red, they will have a chunky heel, and they will have a buckle. Keeping with the shoe theme are these amazing leopard print Vans. I spent my teenage years alternating between Vans and Converse, with the odd pair of Doc Martens thrown in. My first pair of Vans were the flying pig ones and I absolutely adored them. But I am an adult now, dammit. I’m too old for flying pigs! Now I’m a ferocious leopard, grrrr.

This girl shirt from Topshop isn’t my usual style. I’m not really a tshirt person, I much prefer button up shirts and jumpers. But I really like the lace detailing, it definitely livens things up a little. Also, I’m -proud- of being a girl. We are awesome. It only makes sense to celebrate it on a tshirt. Also from Topshop is this cute skirt, which I am totally into. It’s from the petite range, which definitely helps as I am the size of a small child and most of my skirts go way too long on me. I had a major clear out of my closet recently, and I discovered that I have a distinct lack of floral skirts. Dresses I have in abundance, even the odd shirt or two. But there is a floral skirt shaped hole in my life, and I think this would fill it. Topshop has come to the rescue yet again for me, as for the past few months I have been on a quest for the perfect pair of ugly trousers. So far the ones I’ve bought have been too normal or too ugly, but I think these ones are just right. I just want to look like a Moroccan carpet, okay? Admittedly, these are a little more Aztec, but I still love them. They’re also from the petite range, so they will actually fit me for a change. Everything’s coming up Millhouse!

I recently broke my favourite ever pair of sunglasses, and now my only remaining pair are ones that make me look like a bug and fall off my head when I look down. These ones definitely bring out my inner cat. Meow. It will also make a nice change for me to have tortoiseshell glasses, since usually I represent the darkness of my soul through my eyewear. Not that it looks like I’ll ever get the weather to actually wear sunglasses, it’s just rain and wind and fog nowadays. Great for Brontë era Yorkshire, but not for the Parrish era. And, uh, I really can’t explain the last item. I just really love The Hound. Out of all the many attractive characters on GoT, I have a crush on Sandor Clegane. I”LL BE YOUR LITTLE BIRD, SANDOR. Love meeeeee.

So these are the things that I like. Although I should probably be saving my money right now, I really want those trousers. I’m already mentally planning outfits with them, so there will probably be a cheeky Topshop trip in the near future. The search for the red shoes is still on, but I know I’ll find the perfect pair eventually. And as for The Hound… I’m totally gonna buy him and no one can stop me. Hi, I’m an adult.

Screen Shot 2014-01-26 at 17.17.51

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

Leave a Reply

