BEAUTY | Red Lips VS Cold Weather: ELF Studio Matte Lip Colour in Rich Red & ELF Studio Lip Exfoliator Review

Image

There are a lot of things about myself that I like to complain of, but my perpetually dry lips might be the most exasperating problem I face whilst getting ready in a morning.  Unlike bad skin or dark circles, which can be fixed with foundation or concealer, sometimes the only thing lip products do is draw attention to the problem.  I consider myself a bit of a lipstick connoisseur, and I struggle to pass a beauty counter without having a gander at the beautiful matte or sheer treasures that await me inside.  But if you combine my unruly lips with this lust for the perfect red shade, there’s gonna be a problem.

And that is where these babies come in.  The ELF Studio Lip Exfoliator (£3.75) is one of those products that has changed my life (is that lame to say?).  The only product that used to be able to tame my unyielding dry skin was Vaseline, but since I found out that they aren’t cruelty free, I’ve been struggling a bit.  And we all know how I feel about animal testing.

Image

As is painfully obvious, my lips (and skin, what a great day to choose to do this review) are pretty dire.  So flaky, so dry, so gross. Ewww.  BUT the Elf Lip Exfoliator is pretty fantastic and super easy to use.  You just wet your lips a little, apply like you would a lipstick and massage in circles, then wipe it away with a damp piece of cotton wool or something.  I love when you use a product and you can see some sort of colour as you clean it off, and there’s always some sort of residue on the cotton wool, which I take as a good sign.  After this you just put on your lip balm of choice.  At first I used Burt’s Bees because it’s been a long time favourite of mine, but then I switched to using Balance Me’s Hydrating Rose Otto & Shea Butter Salve, because I figured if you use a moisturiser after a facial exfoliator, you should use something hydrating after a lip one too.  And it seemed to be a good choice, as the butter really does put the moisture back into your lips.  And this provides the perfect base for applying your red lip– free from all those nasty chapped surfaces!

Image

I like lipstick so much because despite being twenty one, I still look about sixteen, so it helps me feel a little bit more like a REAL ADULT.  So I’m pretty much always on search for the perfect red.  I’ve tried countless different ones, from drugstore to more high end brands, but ELF Studio Matte Lip Colour in Rich Red (£3.75) is definitely my new favourite.  I love the pen style applicator, as it makes it so easy to apply, which can always be tricky with reds.  The staying power is pretty good too, and lasted me a good few hours (including a sandwich and countless coffees) before I needed to reapply.  It also moisturises and hydrates your lips, which is super handy in winter.  I definitely prefer these to the Revlon Lip Butters, but maybe that’s just because I’m more of a matte lip person than a sheer one.

Aaaaaand there we have it. I think a good red lipstick pretty much transforms a look. I was wearing a very basic outfit today, and an even more basic makeup look, and the lipstick did a good job of making me feel a little bit more presentable.  Even if I didn’t leave the house, it’s still nice to feel empowered when you’re lying on your stomach in your front garden, trying to pull your cat out of a bush.

Author: Rosanna Parrish

Brit exiled in Spain.

Leave a Reply

